A free and modern woman

Chana Orloff was one of the 20th century’s greatest sculptors.

The extraordinary ordeals this artist lived through made her a free, courageous, and generous woman.

1888

Chana Orloff was born on 12 July in Tsaré-Constantinovska, a small town in Ukraine. She was the second youngest in a family of nine children. Both her mother and grandmother were midwives. Her father was a schoolteacher until, as a Jew, he was barred from that profession. He then became a merchant.

1905

Her family emigrated to Palestine, where her father found work as a farmhand. Chana took in sewing work to help her parents make ends meet.

1910

Chana arrived in Paris and was taken on as an apprentice seamstress in the Paquin fashion house.

1911

She took second place in the entrance exam of the École des Arts Décoratifs. She made her first sculpture, a portrait of her grandmother, based on a photo. She also attended the Académie Marie Vassilief, where she met many artists who frequented the Montparnasse district of Paris. Among them Picasso, Foujita, and Apollinaire.

Chana et le "Prophète" 1911

1912

She met Modigliani and introduced him to Jeanne Hébuterne, who would later become his partner. Modigliani drew Chana Orloff’s portrait and added an inscription in Hebrew: Chana, daughter of Raphael.

1913

For the first time, Chana Orloff’s work was exhibited at the Salon d'Automne.

1916

Chana married Ary Justman, a Polish poet. Her work was exhibited alongside that of Matisse, Rouault, and Van Dongen. Together with Ary, she contributed to Pierre Albert-Birot’s newly founded avant-garde magazine, S.I.C. Ary Justman's Pensées poétiques [Poetic Musings] was published, accompanied by reproductions of sculptures.

1918

The birth of Chana’s son, Elie, nicknamed "Didi" or "mon fils" in his portraits.

Chana par Modigliani 1912

1919

After joining the American Red Cross, Ary died of the Spanish flu.

1919/1924

In the early 1920s, Chana Orloff became the portraitist of the Parisian elite. Portraiture would remain among her preferred themes.

1925/1926

Chana was granted French nationality and awarded the Legion of Honour. She became a member of the Salon d'Automne and exhibited her work in Paris and Amsterdam. She had her home/artist’s studio built by Auguste Perret in the Villa Seurat.

1927/1929

1927: Publication of the monograph: Chana Orloff, trente reproductions de sculptures et de dessins [Chana Orloff, thirty reproductions of sculptures and drawings] by Edouard des Courrières (Gallimard) and Léon Werth (Crès).

​1928: First trip to the United States and private exhibition at the avant-garde Weyhe Gallery in New York. The exhibition was taken up by many galleries from coast to coast.

Chana dans son atelier rue d'Assas

1930

Meîr Dizengoff, the first Mayor of Tel Aviv, visited Chana to ask for her help creating the Tel Aviv Museum of Art.

1931/1934

Numerous portraits of personalities from the art world.

1935

Chana’s first exhibition at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art was a great success.

1937

Around thirty of Chana’s sculptures were presented at the Masters of Independent Art exhibition at the Petit Palais in Paris.

1940/1942

After the general exodus from Paris, Chana Orloff returned to the city under German occupation. Her life there was difficult. But although in constant danger, she continued to work. She made a series of small pieces that she called "pocket sculptures".

On the eve of the Vel d'Hiv roundup, she was warned by two French friends that her arrest was imminent. One of those friends was a senior police official and the other was the famous Rudier, her founder and the person who would go on to save many of her works. She left her studio and fled with her son to Grenoble, then on to Lyon where they met the painter Georges Kars. Together, they managed to get across the border into Switzerland.

1945

She exhibited the works she produced in Switzerland at the Georges Moos Gallery in Geneva, to an enthusiastic reception. When Paris was liberated, she made the journey back to her home/studio. She found it ransacked and looted by the Nazis, and she set back to work.

Chana dans ses nouveaux ateliers villa Seurat.

Chana vers 1930

1946

Chana Orloff exhibited about thirty sculptures and a series of drawings at the Galerie de France. Critics were upset by her sculpture Le Retour, which recounted the ordeal of a deportee. When asked by journalists about her life in Switzerland, Chana Orloff spoke mainly about the painter, Georges Kars. Unable to resume a normal life after the war, Kars committed suicide the day after the Liberation. He jumped from the second floor of the Geneva hotel that Chana Orloff had moved him into just the day before.

1946-1949

It was during this period of major retrospectives that Chana Orloff established her reputation as an artist for once and for all. After Paris, she exhibited in Amsterdam, Oslo, New York, Chicago, and San Francisco. “What a delight,” wrote the poet Yvan Goll, “to find at the Wildenstein Gallery in New York, this powerful artist whose face and work are so familiar to the Montparnasse crowd... The works she presents to us in Wildenstein prove that her grip has lost none of its vigor and male strength. And yet a profound humanity envelops her characters in loving tenderness...”

1949

Chana arrived in Israel after a triumphant tour of Europe and the United States. She exhibited in Jerusalem, Haifa, and at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art. She continued her work in Israel and produced, among others, the portrait of David Ben-Gurion and the Maternity erected at Ein Guev in memory of Chana Tuchman Alderstein, a member of that kibbutz who died in Israel's War of Independence.

Chana vers 1955

Chana vers 1955

1950-1960

In addition to the sculptures she produced in her studio, she created many monuments related to the history of the State of Israel.

1961

Major retrospective at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, the Bezalel Museum in Jerusalem, the Haifa Museum of Modern Art, and the Ein Harod Museum of Art. After Israel, the exhibition was presented at the Granoff Gallery in Paris.

1965

Exhibition at the Herzliya Museum of Contemporary Art, Israel. Chana Orloff’s large bronze bas-relief, The Dove of Peace, was unveiled at the Nation House (Binyanei Hauma) in Jerusalem.

1968

Chana Orloff arrived in Israel for a retrospective exhibition at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art to mark her 80th birthday. Her health failed and she died at the Tel HaShomer hospital near Tel Aviv on 18 December 1968. She is buried in the Kiryat Shaul cemetery in Tel Aviv. Her son Elie marked her grave with a sculpture that she had been working on.

Une femme libre et moderne

Chana Orloff  est l'une des plus grandes sculptrices du XXème siècle.

La traversée d'épreuves exceptionnelles ont fait de cette artiste une femme libre, courageuse et généreuse.

1888

Chana Orloff nait le 12 juillet à Tsaré-Constantinovska, petite ville d'Ukraine. Elle est la huitième d'une famille de neuf enfants. Sa mère et sa grand-mère sont sages-femmes. Son père est instituteur, puis suite à l'interdiction pour les juifs d'exercer ce métier, il devient commerçant.

1905

Sa famille émigre en Palestine. Son père est devient ouvrier agricole. Chana aide ses parents en faisant des travaux de couture.

1910

Chana arrive à Paris et trouve une place d’apprentie-couturière dans la maison de haute couture Paquin.

1911

Elle est reçue deuxième au concours d'entrée de l’École des Arts Décoratifs. Elle réalise sa première sculpture, un portrait de sa grand-mère, d'après photo. Elle fréquente également l'Académie Marie Vassilief où elle rencontre de nombreux artistes  de Montparnasse dont Picasso, Foujita, Apollinaire...

Chana et le "Prophète" 1911

1912

Elle rencontre Modigliani et lui présente celle qui sera sa compagne : Jeanne Hébuterne. Modigliani dessine le portrait de Chana Orloff sur lequel est écrit en hébreu : Chana, fille de Raphaël.

1913

Première participation au Salon d'Automne.

1916

Chana se marie avec Ary Justman, poète polonais. Elle expose au côté de Matisse, Rouault, Van Dongen. Elle participe avec Ary à la revue d'avant-garde S.I.C. que vient de créer Pierre Abert-Birot. Parution des "Pensées poétiques" d'Ary Justman qui sont accompagnées de reproductions de sculptures.

1918

Chana a un petit garçon, Elie, surnommé"Didi" dans ses portraits.

Chana par Modigliani 1912

1919

Engagé dans la Croix Rouge américaine, Ary meurt de la grippe espagnole.

1919/1924

Chana Orloff devient au début des années vingt la portraitiste de l'élite parisienne. Le portrait restera l'un de ses thèmes de prédilection.

1925/1926

Chana obtient la nationalité française et la Légion d’Honneur. Elle devient sociétaire du Salon d'Automne. Elle expose à Paris et à Amsterdam. Elle fait construire sa résidence-atelier par Auguste Perret, villa Seurat.

1927/1929

1927 : Edition de la monographie "Chana Orloff, trente reproductions de sculptures et de dessins" par Edouard des Courrières, chez Gallimard et par Léon Werth aux éditions Crès.

1928 : Premier voyage aux Etats-Unis et exposition particulière à la galerie d'avant-garde Weyhe Gallery à New-York. Exposition reprise par de nombreuses galeries de la côte Est à la côte Ouest.

Chana dans son atelier rue d'Assas

1930

Meîr Dizengoff, premier Maire de Tel-Aviv rend visite à Chana pour qu'elle l'aide à créer le musée de Tel-Aviv.

1931/1934

Nombreux portraits de personnalités du monde des arts.

1935

Sa première exposition au musée de Tel-Aviv remporte un grand succès.

1937

Participation avec une trentaine de sculpture à l'exposition "les Maîtres de l'Art Indépendant" au Petit Palais.

1940/1942

Après l'exode, revenue à Paris alors occupé, Chana Orloff mène une vie difficile et, bien que constamment en danger, continue à travailler. Elle effectue une série de petites pièces qu'elle nomme "sculptures de poche".

A la veille de la rafle du Vel d'Hiv, elle est prévenue par deux amis français - son fondeur, le célèbre Rudier qui sauvera nombre de ses œuvres, et un haut fonctionnaire de la police - que son arrestation est imminente. Elle quitte son atelier et part, avec son fils, à Grenoble, puis à Lyon où ils rencontrent le peintre Georges Kars. Ils réussiront à franchir ensemble la frontière franco-suisse.

1945

Elle expose ses œuvres réalisées en Suisse à la galerie Georges Moos, à Genève; la critique est enthousiaste. Elle revient à Paris à la Libération. Elle retrouve son atelier saccagé et pillé par les nazis et se remet au travail.

Chana dans ses nouveaux ateliers villa Seurat.

Chana vers 1930

1946

Elle expose à la Galerie de France une trentaine de sculptures et une série de dessins. La sculpture intitulée Le Retour, relatant le calvaire d'un déporté, bouleverse la critique. Interrogée par des journalistes sur sa vie en Suisse, Chana Orloff parle surtout de Georges Kars. Incapable après la guerre de reprendre une vie normale, le peintre se suicide au lendemain de la Libération, sautant du deuxième étage de l'hôtel genevois où Chana Orloff l'avait installé la veille.

1946-1949

C'est la période des grandes rétrospectives et de la consécration définitive de Chana Orloff. Après Paris, l'artiste expose à Amsterdam, Oslo, New York, Chicago, San Francisco. "Quelle joie, écrit le poète Yvan Goll, de retrouver à New York, à la galerie Wildenstein, cette artiste puissante dont le visage et l’œuvre sont si familiers aux Montparnassiens... Les œuvres qu'elle nous présente chez Wildenstein attestent que sa poigne n'a rien perdu de sa vigueur et de sa force mâle, mais une profonde humanité enveloppe ses personnages de la tendresse amoureuse... "

1949

Chana arrive en Israël après une tournée triomphale en Europe et aux États-Unis. Elle expose au musée de Tel-Aviv, à Jérusalem et à Haifa. Elle travaille dans le pays et réalise, entre autres, le portrait de David Ben-Gourion ainsi que la Maternité érigée à Ein Guev à la mémoire de Chana Tuchman Alderstein, membre de ce kibboutz, tombée au cours de la guerre de libération.

Chana vers 1955

Chana vers 1955

1950-1960

Parallèlement à sa sculpture d'atelier, elle exécute de nombreux monuments liés à l'histoire de l'État d'Israël.

1961

Grande rétrospective au musée de Tel-Aviv, au musée Bezalel à Jérusalem, au musée d'Art moderne de Haifa et au musée d'Art de Ein Harod. Après Israël, l'exposition est présentée à la galerie Granoff, place Beauvau à Paris.

1965

Exposition au musée de Herzélia, Israël. Un important bas-relief en bronze, une Colombe de la paix, est dévoilé à la Maison de la Nation (Binyaneh-Ha'ouma) à Jérusalem.

1968

Chana Orloff arrive en Israël pour une exposition rétrospective au musée de Tel-Aviv, à l'occasion de son 80ème anniversaire. Tombée malade, elle s'éteint à l'hôpital de Tel Hashomer, près de Tel-Aviv, le 18 décembre 1968. Elle sera enterrée au cimetière Kriat Shaul à Tel-Aviv. Elie, son fils, fera poser sur sa tombe un monument funéraire sur lequel elle travaillait.